day 7. last day in Nosara, Costa Rica :(

Standard

It is almost 9pm here in Nosara, and I am so sad that I have to leave here tomorrow morning. The cab picks me up at 10am, and my flight leaves at 3pm. I do not want to leave, at all. I have had the most incredible week of my life, and have never felt more beautiful, strong, and brave in my entire life. This trip has honestly made me realize even more how much I hate Nebraska, and really how much I hate the idealized “American dream.” I have gone to sleep at 9 or 10 pm every night, and been up around 6am every morning. I have not needed a single stimulant (including coffee) to get me through the day. I look forward every single day to surfing for 4-6 hours, and walking into the small town of Nosara to goto Robins for the best, most delicious ice cream and sorbet. I just do not want to leave. And, of course it never helps that there are some of the most attractive men teaching me how to surf, and the girls that work here are amazing people that I totally get along with. I don’t see much of either in Nebraska. I am ready for a different type of life, whether or not that includes moving to Costa Rica or to another country with similar, laid-back lifestyles. I also can’t wait to go visit my new italian family, who tells me they want to adopt me and show me all around Italy next spring. They have 2 twin 17 year olds, and I have absolutely hit it off with the girl, Giosella. I am sad to leave her and her family, as well as the other people in our small group of 12 surf enthusiasts. It is sad to think that chances are good I will never see or talk to the majority of them again, but they are all successful and adventurous people like myself so I know that they will end up doing big things. I’m not sure if it’s the people, or the beach, or the air, or EVERYTHING, but I love Costa Rica and I am desperate to be back here ASAP. I love to surf, and I received so many compliments on the fact that I came so far this week. I have never been so proud of myself! I conquered so many fears, and displayed so much perseverance that I honestly thought had disappeared in this past depressing year of law school. It is entirely true… I am beautiful and I can do any damn thing I put my mind to. If I want to win championships for surfing, I can. If I want to be a top NYC lawyer, I can do that as well. I just need to get around people like the ones here that are supportive and are just as interested in my success as I am. I, once again, am heartbroken that I must leave tomorrow… but I am sure that it is only a “cya soon” rather than a good-bye. Hopefully my Dad is ready to (1) buy me a surfboard and (2) send me to another surf location in December. 🙂

Pura Vida!

Leave a comment